Link to Online Collection Catalog
Link to OHS HOME page
Link to CONTACT OHS page
Link to OHIO HISTORY STORE website
Link to OHS CALENDAR page
Link to OHS PLACES page
Link to OHS RESOURCES page
Link to the ABOUT OHS page
Link to SEARCH OHS page

Programs and Events
link to Preservation Site Index link to Preservation Site Map link to Preservation Staff link to Related Links link to Contact Us page

2002 Ohio Historic Preservation Award Recipients

The Ohio Historic Preservation Office Awards have been presented annually since 1983 on the basis of nominations from throughout the state. Awards are presented in two categories: Public Education and Awareness, and Preservation Merit.

Public Education and Awareness Award

The Public Education and Awareness Award is for increasing interest in historic preservation. Eligible activities include, but are not limited to, media, newsletters, publications, interpretation, original research, educational programs, and special events which have substantially increased public understanding and awareness of historic preservation at the local, regional, or state level. Our 2002 recipients are:

Building Ohio: A Traveler's Guide to Ohio's Urban Architecture, by Jane Ware, published by Orange Frazer Press.

Virginia McCormick, of Worthington, for her service as an Ohio Historic Preservation Office volunteer and her contributions to understanding of Ohio's architectural heritage, including the book Educational Architecture in Ohio: From One-Room Schools and Carnegie Libraries to Community Education Villages (Kent State University Press, 2001).

Cincinnati City Planning Department, Historic Conservation Office, for its web site, (formerly

Preservation Merit Award

The Preservation Merit Award is for preserving Ohio's prehistory, history, architecture, or culture. Eligible activities include, but are not limited to, restoring, rehabilitating, or otherwise preserving an important building or site, longtime stewardship of a property, promoting protective legislation, funding preservation projects, offering leadership, support, or service, and furthering preservation at the local, regional, or state level. Our 2002 recipients are:

Miriam S. Zachman, for her longtime devotion to preservation of Ripley's historic and architectural resources.

Dienstberger House Committee, for saving the c. 1861 Dienstberger House at 222 N. Washington St. in Delphos.

Relocation and restoration of the Westerville Truss Bridge over Alum Creek.

Preservation and adaptive use of the 1881 Engine House & Lockup at 260 Chapman St. in Waynesville as the Waynesville Interprestive Center.

Payne & Payne Builders Inc., of Chardon, for preservation and adaptive use of A.B. Carlson's General Store at 10750 Mayfield Rd. in Fowlers Mill.

Preservation and rehabilitation of the Robinson Music Company Building at 141 N. Fourth St. in Steubenville.

Preservation and adaptive use of the United Motors Company Building at 4019 Prospect Ave. in Cleveland.

Bellaire Housing Partners, Ltd., for preservation and adaptive use of the Zweig Building at 3396 Belmont Ave. in Bellaire.

St. Mary Development Corporation, of Dayton, for preservation and rehabilitation of the Salem Grand Building at 501-523 Salem Ave. and the Deluxe Apartments at 729 W. Grand Ave. in Dayton as Grand Place.



OHIO HISTORY STORE || CALENDAR || PLACES || RESOURCES || ABOUT || SEARCH || PRIVACY POLICY || Last modified Monday, 27-Jul-2009 10:21:15 Eastern Daylight Time
Ohio History Center 800 E. 17th Ave. Columbus, OH 43211 © 1996-2012 All Rights Reserved.